About Us

We are a group of six artists who make work in theatre and performance from our base in Sheffield and tour to audiences all around the world.

Forced Entertainment is a multi-award-winning, globally renowned, Sheffield-based ensemble which grows in creative collaboration with other artists, influencing the ecology and experience of theatre in England and beyond. The longstanding group, skilled staff and strong board, create and deliver high quality performance and participatory projects locally, nationally, internationally, and over digital platforms.

At the heart of Forced Entertainment is a group of six artists; Tim Etchells (Artistic Director), Robin Arthur, Richard Lowdon (Designer), Claire Marshall, Cathy Naden, Terry O’Connor collaborating to make original theatre and performances together since 1984.

Our vision is that our work creates a space which allows people of all backgrounds to rethink the world, their place and potential in it. Our mission is to explore the possibilities of playful, complex and provocative art, its power to ask questions, and to connect people.

We do these things through the original work of the artistic team and collaborators (from theatre shows to 24 hour live-streamed extravaganzas), inspiring participatory work with communities (especially Sheffield-based young people) and supporting the growth, creative work and organisational development of other artists.

Our interactions with colleagues, partners, audiences and participants are guided by our values which embrace generosity, rigour, and a commitment to collaboration. Our work is strengthened by our relationships with Associate Artist, Tyrone Huggins, and guest artists such as Seke Chimutengwende, Nicki Hobday and Jerry Killick.